Many cakes and desserts usually call for a gelling agent. No panna cotta or no-bake cake would be complete without gelatine. However, there are times where animal-based gelatine needs to be avoided for dietary, health-related or ethical reasons. In these circumstances, agar is an ideal alternative.
Agar is obtained from algae and is a plant-based alternative to gelatin. Vegan cooking and baking is now made easy with our vegan agar products. Pure agar is now available alongside agar leaves and organic agartine. Here’s a brief description of the differences:
Our agar is a 100% plant-based gelling agent and the perfect choice for making sweet treats the vegan way. Our high-quality agar products allow you to avoid animal-based gelatine while whipping up delicious desserts. Get ready for a brand-new taste sensation and try out our agar instead of gelatine!
One sachet is enough to make around 10 portions (3 g each = 1 lightly heaped tsp).
One portion (3 g = 1 lightly heaped tsp) is the equivalent of around 6 gelatine leaves and is enough for 500 ml of liquid.
For cold mixtures:
When adding whipped cream (e.g. for pie fillings), leave the hot mixture to cool slightly, otherwise the cream will melt.
For hot mixtures:
Leave to cool for 1 to 3 hours, based on the recipe.
Note: If you are working with acidic fluids or vinegar, use double the amount of agar. After cooking, agar sets from 35°C.
Gelling agent agar – agar E406.
The prepared product contains:
|Energy (kJ)||701 kJ|
|Energy (kcal)||175 kcal|
|of which saturates||0.1 g|
|of which sugar||0.5 g|
* Reference for an average adult (8400 kJ / 2000 kcal).
Information for persons with allergies and/or intolerances
This product contains the following allergenic ingredients according to the law:
Due to our wide range of products, different articles are produced on the production lines, so that traces of certain allergens cannot be completely avoided despite careful processing:
May contain traces of egg, soy, milk and nuts due to production.