You need a gelling agent to make some dishes, cakes and desserts. But sometimes you’d rather avoid animal-based gelatine as it doesn’t suit your diet or for health-related or ethical reasons. Our agartine is the perfect alternative!
This gelling agent is purely plant-based. It helps you give your sweet dishes or savoury jellies – including vegetarian or vegan ones – the desired set naturally without animal-based products. Agartine is made from agar, which is obtained from blue or red algae.
It’s easy to work with – agartine is prepared in the same way as animal-based gelatine. One sachet is enough for 500 ml fluid and is the equivalent of approx. 6 gelatine leaves. After cooking, it also sets at around 35 °C.
Note: When using agartine, you may need to adjust your recipe slightly. It also gives off a particular smell during cooking – which can only be smelled when it boils. The agartine has a neutral odour and taste in the cooled dish.
Note: If you are working with acidic fluids or vinegar, use double the amount of agartine!
What else you’ll need
For cold mixtures:
For hot mixtures:
maltodextrin, gelling agent agar-agar E406 (25%).
The prepared product contains:
|Energy (kJ)||1414 kJ|
|Energy (kcal)||335 kcal|
|of which saturates||0.1 g|
|of which sugar||2.7 g|
* Reference for an average adult (8400 kJ / 2000 kcal).
Information for persons with allergies and/or intolerances
This product contains the following allergenic ingredients according to the law:
Due to our wide range of products, different articles are produced on the production lines, so that traces of certain allergens cannot be completely avoided despite careful processing:
May contain traces of egg, milk, soya and nuts.